Funke Adegbokiki
2 min readFeb 11, 2020

--

Dear Adeola.

Dear Adeola Mi,

You wouldn’t believe how many times I had thought ‘to write or not to write?’. I mean it’s only fair to you I should write, after all I do confess to love writing. I also believe letters should be personal and remain so. However I will make an exception this time.

Forgive me if at first, it seems I want nothing to do with you. It's my natural defense against time wasters. I wouldn't call myself a non-romantic, just a realistic one. I appreciate romance and all but I believe it takes trust and effective communication to make a relationship work.

I am in that middle stage right now- not bothered if you come soon enough and worried about how I would recognize you. I know I am going to be fierce about my other half and I hope you understand when I start to display. Lol. It’s not as bad as it sounds.

Whoever you are, I know you will be funny, kind, annoyingly but adorably adamant, strict but liberal. It would help a lot if you put God first. So I am living life with no thoughts of missing out or including you in my present plans to success. I am sorry but I am sure you will approve. You will be that type of man.

So I hope someday soon, we will meet, cross swords, get on each other’s skin, make up,start a mellow friendship which will blossom into our awesomtanstic future. Just remember, although it has thorns, roses are much more than beautiful.

I remain -some time in the future your adorable other half - yours always.

Funke Adegbokiki.

--

--

Funke Adegbokiki

Naturally curious. Book nerd. If I can make you go, 'I didn't know that', then I have done my part.